Search

Shore Excursions

Search this Thread

Old Jan 3rd, 2005, 02:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shore Excursions

Can I wait until I get on the ship to book shore excursions or do they book up before then? Some of the excursions say they have limited room.
Old Jan 3rd, 2005, 03:12 PM

Sussy,

This is my first cruise (in two weeks) and we've pre-booked our shore excursions. Actually, we booked them almost the day they were first available for booking. I went back to check something a few days later and noticed that one of them was sold out already. My suggestion would be if there is something that you really want to do that you book it right away.

I'm new to cruising so maybe one of the more experienced people have other advice. But...it's not like the price is going to change and you still have the option of cancelling.

Last Mango
Old Jan 3rd, 2005, 03:49 PM

Carnival made us wait until we got onboard.
Old Jan 4th, 2005, 10:59 AM

I agree with Alicia. You can do the
same thing on your own...cheaper...and
"they're" waiting for you when you
step off the ship. Pay attention to
what other travellers say, though...
it pays off.
Old Jan 4th, 2005, 11:26 AM

If you decide to do the shore excursions offered by the cruise line, I would book in advance, just to save the aggravation of standing in line once you're on board or it filling to capacity before you are able to sign up.

On a Royal Caribbean Alaska cruise, I had prebooked all my shore excursions, and had confirmations of my reservations. At registration, though, I discovered that they somehow messed up and none of my bookings were made (long story).

At any rate, I had to wait in a very long and slow moving line to sign up for my shore excursions - I was quite peeved about the entire experience - especially since the wait was over 2 hours long.