Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Travel Topics > Cruises
Reload this Page >

First time on Carnival, a few questions?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 13th, 2008, 04:59 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are going on a 3 night cruise on Carnival Paradise out of Long Beach. I've never been on Carnival and know nothing about it, nor have i ever been on such a short cruise.

My TA said we can bring our own bottled water within reason like 2 per day per person (we'll have a fridge in our cabin) and 3 bottles of wine (1 for each dinner each night) and pay the corkage. Is my TA correct? I've never used them before either.

I guess if you want a cocktail on your balcony before dinner you call room service? Can you get cheese and crackers, shrimp cocktail through room service for your cocktail hour?
Thanks.
Old Aug 14th, 2008, 10:48 PM

I was on a Carnival cruise early last month and can halp a bit...

You wrote: "My TA said we can bring our own bottled water within reason like 2 per day per person ... and 3 bottles of wine (1 for each dinner each night) and pay the corkage. Is my TA correct? I've never used them before either."

Yes, you can bring the bottled water without a problem.

Your TA is wrong about the wine. You may only bring two bottles. Per Carnival's published policy: Guests 21 years of age and older only may bring ONE bottle (750ml) of wine or champagne, PER PERSON, on board only during embarkation at the beginning of the cruise. A $10 corkage fee per bottle will be charged should you wish to consume this wine in the main dining room.

Carnival ships generally have a pretty decent selection of wines and aren't terribly overpriced.

You wrote: "I guess if you want a cocktail on your balcony before dinner you call room service? Can you get cheese and crackers, shrimp cocktail through room service for your cocktail hour?"