Book now or later for this summer?

Jan 18th, 2003, 10:40 AM
pamb

Book now or later for this summer?

Hi,
The Fodor's boards were invaluable to me in planning our European trip last summer, and I hope you all can help with this summer's plans to take our family of four on a cruise.
We have been on one cruise before, Carnival's Fantasy, over Thanksgiving five years ago. This time, we want one of the newer ships; hubby and kids want Caribbean, so we're leaning toward Carnival Conquest out of N.O. or RCL's Navigator of the Seas out of Miami.
Prices I've found so far are pretty high ($900 pp and 2nd and $700 3rd and 4th is cheapest for Carnival and $1200 pp all four of us on Navigator). Are these best prices I"m going to find for July or should I wait another month or so to book?
Thanks,
Pam

Jan 18th, 2003, 11:21 AM
Cathy

Hi Pam! I am a teacher and I have this problem all of the time, since I only cruise in the summer. Summer is high season for Caribbean cruises and the only time you will find higher prices is over the Christmas holidays. Cruise lines take advantage of two situations 1) Many more families are able to cruise becasue of summer vacation 2) There is less competition - in the winter time, the European and Alaskan cruise areas are closed so every cruise line sends its ships to the Caribbean. Lots of ships for folks to choose from, lots of lower prices. Come summertime, the number of ships dwindles considerably. Fewer ships, more people - higher prices.

That being said, cruise prices fluctuate depending on lots of factors. If the ship is not filling, they drop the prices.