Overwhelmed young adult... any help?

Mar 10th, 2008, 09:10 PM
Original Poster

Overwhelmed young adult... any help?

Hello,

I'm a 22-year old looking to go to an all-inclusive resort somewhere in the Caribbean for Dec 2008, with my girlfriend. Looking to spend between 1000-1500 each. There are so many destinations, we are really having trouble narrowing it down.

For peace of mind she does not want Mexico or Jamaica, and she went to Cuba before so does not want that either. I haven't ever gone south, so I have no experience in such matters.

Can anyone give some tips on what might be suitable? We're looking for an all-inclusive resort. Not too wild and crazy, but something with a nice beach and decent amenities, we're not looking to go far off the resort (for security and financial reasons), but we are looking for things to do besides beach by day drink at night.

Also... would it be advisable to wait and hope for some good last minute deals, or will the price not drop very much since it is a peak period (or will there be any left even?)

Thanks!
Chris
Mar 11th, 2008, 06:00 AM

With that kind of budget you'd have to go in early December, not over the holidays when the prices really soar. And you've eliminated two out of the three most economical locations, which leaves you with the Dominican Republic. I know next to nothing about that country other than it is chock full of all inclusives, but other folks will be able to chime in here. But since you say "peace of mind" is essential, being in the DR might not cut it, either, with so many wild reports of drinking the bad water. Why does she eliminate Jamaica & Mexico?
Mar 11th, 2008, 06:14 AM