Bahamas (non-Nassau) help needed?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27th, 2006, 09:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are considering a 6 night vacation to the Bahamas. While we love luxury accomodations and to be pampered- they are not a major necessity- especially since we are on a budget right now. The Four Seasons is out of the picture- unfortunately.

We like modern amenities such as a.c., tv, bathrobes. We want to be right on the beach where we will be brought frosty drinks. Decent food at the hotel is important, as is room service. We are looking to just relax for 6 nights- not in need of crazy nightlife- but maybe a nice hotel bar. A beautiful beach and nice pool area are a MUST. Where should we go?
Old Jan 27th, 2006, 10:21 AM

Short of the Four Seasons, you will be hard-pressed to find all of what you seek in the Out Islands, save perhaps in Harbour Island or Treasure Cay(of which I have no experience, so I can't say for sure).

In the course of my visits (1 to Eleuthera, 2 to Cat Island, and 5 to the Abacos -- some of which include stays at what are considered the better properties in the island group) I have found this much:

- AC is pretty available (but I personally prefer to go without, and often choose places without it)
- I've never stayed anywhere with TV in the rooms (the Abaco Inn had it in the bar)
- Bathrobes nowhere to be seen
- Plenty of beach bars, where you get (or even mix) your own drinks, but no servers walking to beach to take your order
- Decent food at many places, but I don't know of any place that has room service
- A few places with pools, but with the gorgeous beaches available, they are not the main attraction