Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Canada
Reload this Page >

What is "High Tea"? vs. "afternoon tea"?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 28th, 2002, 08:18 PM
Bethany

Just a quick question.<BR><BR>What is "high tea" and how does it differ from "afternoon tea"? Also where is the best place to get it in Victoria? I'm looking for more of the sandwiches/"real food" and slightly less so the dessert stuff.<BR><BR>Thank You!<BR><BR>Bethany

Old May 28th, 2002, 11:30 PM
Robyn

I'm no expert, but I always thought they were the same thing. "High tea" was "high" because it was traditionally served high in the afternoon.... not because it was a high class thing to do. <BR><BR>Both are considered kind of like mid-afternoon meals you'd have to tie you over before dinner. But you probably already know that. <BR><BR>As I said I'm not expert when it comes to high tea, but I'm sure there are places where you have a choice of ordering sandwiches or sweets.

Old May 29th, 2002, 04:52 AM
Catherine

Traditionally high tea has more to eat, a bit "fancier" than afternoon tea. Usually afternoon tea will offer a small choice of sandwiches and perhaps a sweet or two. High tea may have more choices.<BR>Hope this helps, but I do not know what the teas in Victoria are like.

Old May 29th, 2002, 05:14 AM
klam

"THE" place to have afternoon tea is the Empress Hotel. Pricey, but considered one of the must do's in Victoria. Reservations are required.<BR><BR>There are other places in Victoria that do it as well.

Old May 29th, 2002, 06:49 AM
cindy