Search

Local Recipes/Specialty Foods

Search this Thread

Old Nov 15th, 2004, 05:36 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Local Recipes/Specialty Foods

Hi all!

This is my first time posting on the Australian board, although I'm a regular over on US, Europe, and Caribbean. A post on the US board inspired me to post here to help my daughter acquire an Australian recipe for a school project. (Not to worry, she and her partner are doing the project themselves (and in great depth!)

Does anyone have a "traditional" or uniquely AUSTRALIAN recipe? (Especially a "finger food" that would be convenient to bring to an international/culural event.)

Thanks in advance for any help!

Old Nov 15th, 2004, 11:37 AM

Ok this might not classify as "finger food" but it sure goes done well if displayed nicely with say smoked salmon and can be used as an entree ( used in the Australian term entree ) or decorated with strawberries for desert.
Avocado and lime moose (sp??? ) caffeine has not kicked in and for the life of me I cannot think of the spelling.
Then there is Paw Paw ( papaya ) soufle'
Of course there is the Australian or NZ ( depending on who you are talking to ) Pavlova.
Gramma Pie
Caramel tarts ( similiar to 'Dulce con leche' in Latin America)
Anzac biscuits
Pumpkin scones
Meat pie floaters

So just tell me which one sounds good and I will do it write it up for you.
Old Nov 15th, 2004, 02:05 PM
Original Poster

Thanks, Liz! Both the Caramel Tarts and Pumpkin Scones sound great to my daughter. Either one you'd care to type up would be most appreciated!

And I have a question regarding the avocado and lime mouse... This is something that can be served with strawberries as a dessert OR with smoked salmon as an appetizer??? Cool! Could you give me that recipe as well? I hate to be too greedy asking for favors, but that would be such a unique addition to our Christmas party menu!