Great Ocean Road - 1 day ??

Jan 28th, 2006, 07:40 PM
aby
Original Poster

Great Ocean Road - 1 day ??

Hi Everybody
Is there any point to doing 1 day along the GOR ? what would it b like ?
thanks
aby
Jan 28th, 2006, 08:47 PM

Yes no problems. You could stop in at Torquay & Bells Beach. These are surfing hot spots and are a good stop for a breakfast and shopping at some iconic Australian surf outlets. You could continue down to Lorne which is far enough out to get some excellent views of GOR have a lunch. From here you can swim in the main patrolled beach, go hiking to the water falls - not large falls but an excellent hike through bush - go shopping as Lorne has a tourist focus and return back to Melbourne in a day. I have been coming here for 30 years and I along with thousands of Melbournians can never get enough. Depends on what you want to do there is lots you can pack in.
Jan 29th, 2006, 01:22 PM
aby
Original Poster

Thanx Beagle
suppose we'd like to focus on SIGHT SEEING, short walks. No shopping ...
i understand Torquay is ~ 100 km from Melbourne how far can one reach in a day (returning to melbourne)?
How far are Lorne Apostles London Bridge etc'? Sorry i haven't gor a map...
aby
Jan 29th, 2006, 05:14 PM

You can get from Melbourne to the 12 Apostles and back in one day but it would be a fairly long day. The GOR is a winding drive and if you spend all day on it, there's a fair chance someone will finish up car sick. Suggest you check out the web site: www.greatoceanrd.org.au. Torquay is an easy drive from the city - takes about 90 minutes.
Jan 29th, 2006, 06:04 PM