Blue Mountains- 1 night

Jun 6th, 2004, 07:23 AM
Original Poster

Blue Mountains- 1 night

My family of 2 Adults and 2 teenagers would like to plan a 1 night trip (by train) from Sydney to the Blue Mountains on Sunday, July 4th. (We are in Sydney June 28-July 4 & flying to Cairns July 5)
-Please recommend which town to stay in and a hotel/Cabin/B&B that will accommodate 4 and is within walking distance of village, food, train.
- Being winter there will all businesses and buses be open and running?
-What is the best and most economical way to get to the airport from this area?
Thank you
Jun 6th, 2004, 01:32 PM

Winter is high season in the Blue Mountains. Everything will be happebning.

Sorry - no hotel suggestions, but someone will drop by.
Jun 6th, 2004, 03:04 PM

Hi, ctusa!

I somehow wish you hadn't chosen a Sunday for your train journey to the Blue Mountains... as a Blue Mountains resident, I can assure you that, for quite a long time now, weekend travel by train in this area has been a hit-and-miss affair, with our State government closing down the line every other weekend (for "urgent track repairs" which never seem to happen) and replacing them with buses which (they assure us) will add only forty-five minutes to our total journey, but which invariably seem to add a couple of hours. Maybe you'll strike one of the good weekends (I hope so); no point in anyone ringing Cityrail and asking them just yet, as they are willing only to give out information a week in advance, and even then it's seldom reliable (promised "express" buses were summarily abandoned a couple of weekends ago, with not so much as an explanation to the people who were caught mid-journey, and had to make unscheduled changes involving lengthy delays).