What to do with my 5 weeks in SEA

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 7th, 2013, 11:24 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi! I'll be going in august to SEA just for 5 weeks tops. Its my first time there and i'm really excited. I'm just sad i dont have more time there, but i'm a student so...anyway i wouldn't have money to stay for a long time. I'm actually going because i won a challenge in my country(i'm from portugal) and now i have a cupon that i can spent in a travel agency so i decided i'd book a fight to bangkok, simply because it is the cheapest country in the area. I remember when i won i went to see how far i could go with the money i got and when i put SEA in the table it was just unreal, like a dream i didn't even dare to have before.

I dont really fancy the backpacker scene. First i thought my dream was thailand but the more i read the more i think it's not really the best for me. Don't get me wrong, everything will be a dream for me! But i won't be having a lot of cash and i just want to live their culture and have a true expecience that i can remember and take with me for the rest of my life, i don't really want to go party and for a resort or something like that.

Anyway, i know this is a weird question, but, if you were me, knowing what you know, what would you do with my 5 weeks? Taking in consideration that i'll be arriving and departing from the bangkok airport.

Whould u recommend to get to another country? Stay in thailand?
Keep in mind i'll be going in the raining season. Thanks!
Old Apr 7th, 2013, 03:46 PM

mariana, what a great opportunity! My top three picks for SEA would be Bangkok in Thailand, Angkor in Cambodia and Bali in Indonesia. In five weeks you could add 2 or 3 other destinations, in those three countries or others like Laos, Vietnam, Singapore.

Some places are more expensive than others, but they average out. You can find clean safe accommodation all over Asia at modest prices.