Weather in Bhutan

Old Nov 13th, 2005, 07:54 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weather in Bhutan

We are going to Bhutan the end of December. Will we need to bring boots? Should we expect snow? We understand that it is going to be quite cold and we may be doing some hiking.
Old Nov 13th, 2005, 10:53 AM

I cna't answer those qustions, but my parents went for 2 weeks in the spring of 2005 and had an amazing guide.

They still email him. In fact he offered for me and husband to be his guests in 2007, which means you don't have to pay the $200 a day fee. Just an fyi.
Old Nov 13th, 2005, 02:26 PM

I have been researching a trip for 2007. If you are hiking in the mountains, you might need boots if your vehicle can make it there - it depends on where you are going - the higher the elevation, the more chance of snow. December is the 2nd coldest month in Bhutan. Why don't you ask your travel agent - they can probably provide a complete list of what to bring.
Old Nov 14th, 2005, 02:05 AM

hi there,
depends on where You are going. If You are lucky, no snow. But I guess, You will find some. We were there in April and it was real cold, specialy at night. In the morning we found ice outside the hotel.
Boots? Of course if You wanna do a little hike (up the tigernest ...). You need good walking boots for sure.
To Coripep - wow, does that mean You can legaly enter Bhutan without having the driver and guide and all that stuff arround You. Wow, I'm jealous. Wanna do this too. Give that guide my email

have fun
Gar
Old Nov 14th, 2005, 02:20 AM