Search

Vietnam Help

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22nd, 2023, 12:28 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vietnam Help

I am going to book a trip to Vietnam in th next few days for an end of October Holiday.. flying out on 26th of October. I live in Melbourne Australia and have been checking out the airfares. I will book on Vietnam Airlines as it seems to be the better option.

I am conflicted about where to go. This is my first time and I really do want to do all the touristy things. It will be myself (62) and my husband(69), both fit and active and well travelled in Asia.

these are my ideas.
Option 1: 4 days in HCMC , 7 days in Hoi An staying at the beach and doing day trips to surrounding areas.
Option 2: 4 days HCMC, 4 days Hoi An, 4 days Hanoi.

wondering if Option 2 will be too rushed for us given we have to go back to an airport every 3 days.

also any comments re my hotel choices
HCMC : Au Lac Charner Hotel
Hoi An : Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Hanoi: Not sure

I was going to do day trips using Hotel services. Or does anyone have any recomendation on tour companies to use for day trips.

any advice would be appreciated.

thanks Millie
Old Jun 23rd, 2023, 07:26 AM

We flew Vietnam Airways form London to Sydney via Hanoi and Saigon . The flight from and to London was ok as it was on a newer aircraft but the leg between Vietnam an oz was not so good. You are correct though, they do offer some cracking deals at the moment.

Saigon and Hanoi both offer a huge amount to do. On balance, I would be inclined to spend slightly more time in Hanoi, not because of any particular preference, it just has more sights to see. OTOH Saigon makes it very easy to explore the Mekong delta for a couple of days.