Search

Travel in Thailand safe?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 14th, 2007, 05:36 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel in Thailand safe?

Hey everyone,

Just wanted to say this is my first time posting here, but I've definitely read this website for help in planning a few vacations!

I was hoping to go to Thailand in January with family, but I was told by someone (a person who has visited Thailand a few times and who I consider relatively reliable) that there is "political and civil unrest there" and that it's especially dangerous for people with American visas? I was planning on going to Bangkok, Phuket and maybe Chiang Mai

Can anyone verify the accuracy of this statement? most people have said it's a great and safe tourist destination.
Old Jul 14th, 2007, 06:00 PM

The most polite thing I can say about someone who tells you that Thailand is " especially dangerous for people with American visas" is that this "friend" is sadly misinformed. Yes, there was a coup in Thailand last year. Visitors were almost entirely unaffected. The only civil unrest is in the farthest south of Thailand (not an area on the tourist track) where there has been long term strife between the Muslim and Buddhist communities.

The places you plan to visit are all on the well-worn tourist track.
Old Jul 14th, 2007, 06:06 PM

We've been to Thailand five times, going back in November. We're proud Bostonians and diehard Red Sox fans. Never any problem, worry or issue.
Old Jul 14th, 2007, 06:43 PM

I'm in Bangkok right now (11th trip). American female, traveling alone (although friends are here same time as I am but we don't see each other everyday). I have never felt unsafe! I am sorry that your friend feels that way about this lovely country with such warm and hospitable people.
Carol
Old Jul 15th, 2007, 11:58 AM
TC