Reload this Page >

Tips for low budget travel in Thailand.

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 22nd, 2002, 07:31 PM
Kellen

I am a student traveler on a tight budget planning a trip to Bangkok and most of the Southern cities in Thailand for two weeks in December. I am seeking advice on cheap places to stay, good places to eat, and any suggestions on some spectacular places to visit.

Old Jul 22nd, 2002, 07:44 PM
Tangata

If you have not done so already, have a look at the Lonely Planet site. That has masses of information on the question of low cost accommodation. <BR><BR>

Old Jul 23rd, 2002, 07:35 PM
jorge

if your staying in bangkok for a week look for 1 week deals. at some hotels or apartments. <BR>try this site out it may help, I just found it a second ago. while trying too help you out..<BR>http://www.backpackbangkok.com/

Old Jul 23rd, 2002, 07:48 PM
Kat

How about bidding for your hotel rooms? See the discussion board for tips on amount to bid for:<BR><BR>http://pub34.ezboard.com/bpricelineasiadiscussions

Old Jul 23rd, 2002, 08:08 PM
Mike

You can eat cheap most anywhere in Thailand if you are willing to settle for something less than 2-5 star restaurants. Anytime I go to Thailand I eat at the small street stalls and restaurants along the road or alleys. In Bangkok one of my favorite places is the food stalls or alleys around Siam Square. Just look at the alleys between shops or follow the students. I can eat a great lunch and dinner there for US$1. That is for both lunch and dinner. The food is great and sanitary but you will need to point at what you want since most of the people do not speak much English. Also at Siam Square go to the food court and the MBK(Mahboonkrong) shopping mall. There is a cheap food court at the top of the mall.

Old Jul 24th, 2002, 07:52 AM
Margo