Siem Reap - Travellers Cheques??

Old Feb 20th, 2006, 08:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Siem Reap - Travellers Cheques??

Hello

My husband and I are visiting Siem Reap at the start of April. We are using Ponheary as our guide whilst we are there.

I am a teacher and my school has been fundraising to provide local children in SR with uniforms, shoes and supplies. I was wondering how to take the money into Siem Reap. I understand that US dollars are most commonly accepted. I am a bit worried about taking a large amount of money in cash (about $1000 fundraising money + money that we will need for our holiday as well). I know from reading reports on this forum that many people have used Ponheary whilst in Cambodia - I would love to hear from anybody else who has given her money to buy school equipment etc... How did you bring money with you?

Can I take Travellers Cheques?

Hope somebody can help. Sorry if i've waffled on a bit.

Debbie
Old Feb 20th, 2006, 08:38 PM

i would take the cash honestly....keep it in a hotel safe (front desk, not in your room) until you get there
Old Feb 20th, 2006, 10:51 PM
Original Poster

Thanks. I've just contacted the hotel and they have got a safe behind the front desk, so it looks like cash is the best option.
Old Feb 21st, 2006, 06:53 AM

Debbie

You can take the cash as suggested (that's what we did and it was fine) or you can use western union to wire it to Ponheary slightly ahead of time. Of course that costs money but the upside is that she can already have your purchases ready, uniforms made, etc and you don't have to use your vacation time doing that part. You may want to get Ponheary's opinion.

Because

$1,000 is alot of money and will buy many items for many children. There will be logistics involved.

Good job on your fundraising efforts! I look forward to hearing about it when you return.