Rough estimates - food costs in SE Asia

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 24th, 2007, 09:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everybody - I am relatively new to the Asia forum, although I am a regular poster in the USA and Europe forums.

My husband and I are planning a trip to SE Asia next June and I am putting together a rough budget so we can get an idea of how much money we should put away between now and then for the trip. I've got a decent idea of hotel costs and am now thinking about food.

Our plan includes Tokyo, Singapore, Malaysia, Bali, and Hong Kong. We will fly out of San Francisco, and since we pretty much have to change planes in Tokyo or Hong Kong, we figured we would take the opportunity for a stop over in each, one on the way to Singapore and one on the way back.

What are people's experiences as far as what they spend on food in these places?

We like good food, but we aren't really into high end restaurants. We do like to have a splurge once in awhile, but will also do picnic lunches sometimes, so it sort of balances out. Just for comparison, last summer in Germany, for the 2 of us, we averaged about 80 euro per day and last month in New Orleans, we averaged about $115 per day.

Thanks for any insight you guys can give me.
Old Jul 24th, 2007, 09:47 AM

Get hotels in S.E.Asia that have the breakfast buffet included in the price which should be easy. The breakfast buffets are enormous...with usually a choice of western and Asian breakfast. So fill up.

I can't imagine spending anywhere near 80 Euro a day for food. I know that Europe is expensive to eat in as I've lived there. It's very easy to eat for a LOT less in S.E.Asia. Plus, due to the heat you probably won't want to eat a lot anyway.