Rabies shots needed?

Search

Rabies shots needed?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 19th, 2010, 04:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rabies shots needed?

Going to Bali in February and visited a travel clinic today. I was quite shocked when it was strongly recommended that I have the 3 rabies shots at a cost of $600 where I live. Is anyone else getting this advice? Apparently, there is an outbreak of rabies in Bali and it has become a hot zone for rabies in the world. I'll be staying in 5 star hotels both in Ubud and Legian so certainly wasn't expecting that. The travel clinic also suggested malaria pills for Ubud - also a bit surprised at that. Am I getting overkill advice?
Old Nov 19th, 2010, 05:05 PM

I'm not a doctor and stress that I'm not qualified to give anyone medical advice; however, as a frequent traveler to Bali -- both the Southern beach area and Ubud -- I wouldn't get a rabies shot or take malaria pills.

Rabies, among dogs and to a lesser degree monkeys and bats, is currently a BIG problem in Bali, but I think the risk of a traveler being bitten by a rabid animal is very, very low. Just use common sense and keep your distance from all animals, especially any that are acting oddly.

Someone with more medical background could correct me if I'm wrong here, but my understanding is that if, in the worst case, you are exposed to rabies, you could undergo the shots afterwards. In Indonesia this may mean evacuation to Singapore or Hong Kong and therefore medical evacuation insurance is always a good idea -- not just for rabies but in general.

Malaria issues in Ubud is a new one for me. Yes, malaria exists everywhere in Indonesia, but again, I think the chance of contracting it is low. Dengue is actually more problematic but there's no preventative available for it.

Most importantly, use mosquito repellent day and night and avoid mosquito heavy areas.
Old Nov 19th, 2010, 05:32 PM

I agree with marmot on this.