Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Pandaw River Cruise - Has ANYONE done this in June or July??

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 14th, 2008, 08:32 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I are very serious about doing the Pandaw Mekong Cruise next summer. (I am a teacher, and can only travel June-July). Has anyone taken this cruise in summer?? (All postings seem to be fall and winter.) Are we crazy to go then?

Looked up the weather averages, but the real question is how does it feel to be touring at that time of year? Any and all input would be appreciated.
thanks,
kawh
Old Aug 15th, 2008, 05:28 PM

Kawh - I haven't done the Pandaw Cruise but I have just done a 3 day cruise with Asian Oasis on the Mekong at the lower end of Laos. I did it the first week in July. Its humid then and more rain but the cruise was fine - I wouldn't let it stop you if thats the time you have got. I usually travel in that part of the world in either June July or August and it is wetter, more humid etc that December but still okay. In fact we didn't have rain to speak of on this cruise I did - just some showers at night. However the few days before and after there were a few spectacular thunderstorms in the mornings - all over in about 1 hour.
Old Aug 18th, 2008, 12:17 AM

The more rain the higher the river.
The higher the river the better the view.
I've done this cruise 3 times. Low water & high. High is best. Just do it.
Yup, it's hot. Yup, it's humid.
Dress light, drink lots, let the staff look after you - and if you're feeling uncomfortable let them attend to you. You'll be fine.

If you have a choice [time-wise] go from Saigon to Siem Reap - that way the real highlight [Angkor] is at the end.

Dogster's favorite cabin : 202
Dogster's fave boat: R.V. Mekong Pandaw

Old Aug 20th, 2008, 09:45 PM