Old Feb 4th, 2007, 10:58 PM
Original Poster

My Angkor Gallery and some Bagan questions

I'd like to invite you to my Angkor gallery:

http://www.wildlifeland.com/Angkor/

I also posted some tips there, mostly from
the photographer's point of view. Will try to
answer any questions you might have.

Can someone compare Angkor to Bagan, Burma?
I'm planing a trip there and I'm not sure what
to expect. My interest is purely photography,
let's say "visual" side of Bagan - sunsets, sunrises,
moody, wide shots of the site etc.

Andrew
Old Feb 5th, 2007, 02:20 AM

Andrew,

I was in Bagan during the new year and have traveled to Angkor a few years ago. I also enjoy taking many photos in Bagan as well as around Inle Lake but I'm only an keen amateur. Your photographs of Angkor are beautiful and I think you will enjoy Bagan as well.

The old temples in Bagan are smaller than in Angkor but the views to the temples are unobstructed by vegetation - meaning not many trees! I took photo from both the ground and the balloon ride over bagan and have some very nice pictures from the balloon.

Around dawn there were a lot of smoke and mist (mostly smoke from the wood fire) but it did clear up around 10 am onward. Sunsets were not as spectacular as the area around Inle Lake but at the right angle with a nice temple in the background I think you will have a pretty nice photo.

The equipment that I took along, very much like yours, were: Canon 5D + 24 - 70 F2.8 L, 70 - 300 DO IS and 50mm prime F1.4. I wish I had brought along a good tripod!
Old Feb 5th, 2007, 02:24 AM

Forgot to mentioned that I went through 2 x 4 gb CF card in 4 days! I was shooting in RAW and carried a small digital IXUS(900IS) which I gave to my daughter for "casual" photographs.

Bagan was very dusty, almost desert like, and make sure that you bring a sensor cleaning kit with you!
Old Feb 5th, 2007, 05:23 AM
Original Poster

Thank you Hanuman! When you say it's smoky
and misty in the morning, does it mean smoke