Notices

Must see/do in India?

Old Jun 12th, 2002, 10:01 PM
jean

Must see/do in India?

I am planning to take two weeks off to visit India. I know this isn't enough to cover all the places to see but can you pls let me know the "must see" and "must do" when visitng India? I have been so intrigued by the place. Also where should I go to for great photographs? I'm an amateur photographer.

Old Jun 13th, 2002, 06:26 PM
John G

1. Chandni Chowk Market in Delhi (hire a rickshaw for an hour to tour).
2. Arts and Crafts Museum in Delhi.
3. Taj Mahal
4. Fatephur Sikri
5. Amber Fort in Jaipur
6. Benares and a boat ride on the Ganges.

Im sure there are other places to see in India, but I have only been to the North.

Old Jun 14th, 2002, 11:03 AM
Beverly

If you have time, I highly recommend a visit to the LAke Palace in Udaipur. I spent a week traveling around Rajastan and found it absolutely fascinating. Hiring guides is something I would recommend though and its not that expensive. Make sure you bring a polarizer to cut the glare frm the sun (which there will be plenty). I also processed alot of film in India and was very pleased with the results. I got 5x7's printed of everything (but the prices wasn't that much cheaper than here).

Old Jun 26th, 2002, 03:17 AM
Bibiana

Hi Jean
As you have only two weeks I would suggest you try the South For the north you would definitely need much much more. Try Kerala Tamil Nadu and Karnataka for starters I'm sure you will have your fill of great photos and great stories of monuments temples nature culture and art etc Besides as a first timer the south would give you an easy nay easier introduction to India
Need any info drop a line
Cheers Bibiana

Old Jul 8th, 2002, 12:43 AM
Naresh

First thing weather, it gets really hot here, so plan a trip anytime from Nov till Feb only.
Must see places Delhi
- Qutub Minar, crowded & touristy but nice.
Red Fort - They also have a nice Sound and Light show in English in the evening.