Help on Beijing Hol

Nov 1st, 2001, 11:20 PM
phil

Help on Beijing Hol

HELP!
My husband is leaving for a 2-3 week business trip next Tuesday week to Beijing, which has all sort of happened unexpectedly, and by great luck I am able to go with him, I will probably only go for 7-10 days. As I know nothing about Beijing, or China for that matter, I feel a bit lost... this isn't my usual neatly planned to the minute holiday, I have a few concerns the main one being if it will be safe for me to travel around Beijing during the day on my own photographing the sights, as I am a mad photographer who usually avoids tours? Any help on where to go and what to do during my days would be GREATLY appreciated.
Thanking you all in advance
Philisity

Nov 2nd, 2001, 01:31 AM
Andrea

Wow! You will have a GREAT time if you are a photographer (you would have a great time anyway, but there is SO much to photograph in Beijing).

First of all, you will be absolutely, positively safe, I promise. Nothing to worry about whatsoever. I feel safer walking around in Beijing and Shanghai than I did in some sections of Boise, Idaho! No sinister looking groups of toughs, RARE pickpocketing (I've been here for 3 years and it hasn't happened to anyone I know).

I recommend you take a Hutong Tour one of your first days, and make a note of where you go - you'll love returning and wandering around on your own through the traditional neighborhoods. Alternatively, you can search for the Beijing walking tours someone has kindly posted here, but personally, I had SO much fun on the tour (it's by biycle rickshaw, and our guide was hilarious) - and I'm not even a fan of tours!

I think if you search even just for "Beijing" on this forum, you should find pages and pages of tips for what to see and do and where to eat.

Good luck!

Nov 2nd, 2001, 06:09 AM
Peter Neville-Hadley