Has PPP won the election?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 22nd, 2007, 11:34 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

not to bring up a heated debate, but I think it's really interesting the way the exit polls are shaping up:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20071223/...iland_election

i've always got the sense that the people in thailand (especially bangkok) weren't ever necessarily against thaksin and that the 2006 coup was more a military power-play. guess the polls really speak for themselves.

i'm relatively new to thai politics, and I'm curious to know what people closer to the situation thinkg, but i find all of this really fascinating. what are your thoughts?
Old Dec 23rd, 2007, 12:15 AM

It looks as if the PPP party has won the majority(official counting will go on for a day or two more) and thus will be able to form the next government. The head of the party is quite a character with a very colourful past but everybody knows that he's just a puppet. The result was expected but the future in uncertain.

The votes show a split in the country with the North and Northeastern provinces(the stronghold of the former TRT party) voting for the PPP while Bangkok and the South voted for the other parties.

With this result it will be a tense time in the country pitting Royalist with the PPP. The last coup was not a power play by the military and I'm not saying anymore.

Old Dec 23rd, 2007, 08:49 AM
Original Poster

Hanuman, thanks for your input. I hope I didn't offend you--that's just my opinion. Guess yours is different--that's the beauty of this place.
Old Dec 23rd, 2007, 08:55 AM

No offense taken! I have friends who are members of both party, PPP and DEM, and non of them can walk in a straight line.

Old Dec 24th, 2007, 06:23 AM

Every chance that the Electoral Committee will disqualify enough of the PPP members to remove their slim majority.
Old Dec 24th, 2007, 06:56 AM