Reload this Page >

First time poster with questions about Thailand itinerary

Notices

Old Apr 17th, 2007, 02:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone. It's my first time posting here, so please bear with me.

It's been my dream to go to Thailand, and now I think we are going this summer.

What do you think of this itinerary? We are flying from Tennessee...long ways!

3 nights in Bangkok. What do you think of the Peninsula and Oriental? I love the idea of a hotel on the river. They seem so romantic. Is the Oriental worth the higher price? Are these hotels good for kids too? We have a 10 year old.

6 nights in Phuket. We are thinking of the JW Marriott Resort based on good reviews I've read. Only think that worries us is the distance from town. We have a 10 year old daughter who is interested in their circus kids program.

4 nights in Chiang Rai, at the Anantara Golden Triangle. We'd all like to experience the elephants, and see the surroundings.

End with another night in Bangkok before our long trip home.

What are the must sees in Bangkok for our short time there? I've heard the floating market is fun, and I've heard it is a tourist trap. In pictures it seems quite exotic to me and I think I'd like to go, but if it's going to be a disappointment and a waste of a day I'd rather skip it. What do you think.

Any other tips? It's our first trip to Asia, so not quite sure what to expect.
Old Apr 17th, 2007, 02:45 AM

What do you plan to do for 6 days in Phuket?

Regarding hotel in Phuket, I suggest you look at the Club Andaman Beach resort. It's very nice and near the action of Patong Beach bur still insulated from the noise and the chaos.

The floating markets in or near Bangkok (actually there are several) pretty much exist only because of the tourists.
Old Apr 17th, 2007, 03:06 AM
Original Poster