Search

First time in Bangkok

Search this Thread

Old Mar 16th, 2004, 12:06 AM
boy
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time in Bangkok

I am a student with plans to spend time in Bangkok soon. This will be my first trip to Asia, and I know absolutely no Thai and little enough about the culture. Is there any essential advice for the first time traveler, such as places or actions to avoid or places that I ought to visit? Will English serve well enough in most places? Any advice would be appreciated
Old Mar 16th, 2004, 04:48 AM

Yes, English will serve you well in most places, and a polite and pleasant manner helps.

The Thai people dislike confrontation.

Old Mar 16th, 2004, 05:30 AM

Regarding places to make a point of visiting, pick up any guide book. If you want specific advice from the helpful participants in this forum, more information will be helpful, such as the amount of time you'll be in Bangkok, your primary travel interests such as food, ruins, boat rides, and the like.

Regarding things to avoid, be aware of touts telling you that a certain tourist site is closed. That's always the start of being led to a jewelry store or some other retail scam.
Old Mar 16th, 2004, 12:11 PM
boy
Original Poster

Thanks for the advice so far. I do have the Fodor's guidebook, so I know what's in there. I'll be spending 6 days/7 nights in Bangkok next week (03/21 on). I have two specific lines of questioning.
First, I am Currently only booked for the first 3 nights at a hotel, my thought being that I would know more about where I wanted to stay once I got there. I'm trying to spend $20-30 dollars a night. Is this idiotic, or will I be able to book rooms somewhere once I get there?
Secondly, while I was originally travelling with friends, they backed out on me and I am currently forging onward alone.
Old Mar 16th, 2004, 12:16 PM
boy
Original Poster