Best Place to Buy Hill Tribe Silver?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 4th, 2005, 10:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a jewelry designer and I will be traveling to Thailand next year. I am planning on purchasing some silver to work into my creations.

Where is the best place to buy silver? Is it available in the markets? Is there a certain Hill Tribe that I could visit and purchase it directly from the locals?

Thanks!
Old Nov 12th, 2005, 12:55 PM
Original Poster

I sent this a few months ago but unfortunately, I received no advice.

Now that I am getting closer to the month I leave I am going to try again.

I am looking to purchase a few hundred dollars worth, possibly more, of hill tribe silver to incorporate into my jewelry designs.

I will be in both Chiang Mai and Bangkok on this trip.

can anyone recommend a wholesale hill tribe silver supplier that I can get in contact with before I depart from the states? I would love to be able to specify some styles that I am interested in.

Thanks!
Old Nov 12th, 2005, 02:56 PM

I think your best bet is in Chiang mai. I've bought a lot of hilltribe silver but to wear --not to use or sell.
Old Nov 13th, 2005, 12:29 PM

Eurotraveller, you might try to email someone from Thai Tribal Crafts, they might be able to give you the info you seek. They are tribal owned-into promoting crafts from the villages in Northern Thailand, including silver work.
[email protected]
www.ttcrafts.co.th/
Good luck
Old Dec 1st, 2005, 08:15 PM

I will be in Chaing Mai around Jan 10 and would also like to buy bulk Hill Tribe silver beads directly from a crafter or as close as I can get to the source. Is there anyone out there who knows of a specific location or person to go to? Eurotraveller, did you find out anything? When will you be in Chiang Mai?
Thanks!!
Old Dec 2nd, 2005, 05:26 AM