bangkok to australia

Oct 27th, 2004, 05:01 PM
Original Poster

bangkok to australia

can anybody tell me what airways have great rates to and from australia from bbk...my time off has just been extended to 2 months and I have already made plans to travel to thailand,and thought while I was close(I am from California)I would get a flight out of BBK and head over to Australia for two weeks..How long is this flight and what the cost would be in the begging of feb.2005..I love to scuba and love great food(IM a chef)and hear lots about food in australia,where in australia would one go for food and diving...this is just a thought at this time...thank you all
Oct 27th, 2004, 05:38 PM

quantas of course, but i would also check out thai air and singapore air...there may be some other a/ls that stop in bkk and then continue to australia....
Oct 28th, 2004, 01:29 AM

tropicsteve, I can't talk about the flights, or for that matter diving, but visit the Australia/ Pacific forum for advice on eats - there are numerous threads. Follow the advice there and you won't go too far wrong. As a chef you'll probably enjoy the Mod-Oz style of cooking, not too distant from Californian fusion but wth a greater emphasis on SE Asian flavours. You can find every major ethnic style in the bigger cities (we're an immigrant society too). Go for the seafood in particular, but beware of tourist traps like Sydney's Darling Harbour. Back to diving - if you haven't been to Australia before, I guess there's only one choice, the Great Barrier Reef. Check Qantas and Australian Airlines for flights from Asian cities direct to Cairns. BTW, there are good restaurants in Cairns and surrounds too, but nothing like the variety you'd find in Sydney and Melbourne.
Oct 28th, 2004, 04:11 AM