Bangkok in two weeks

Old Mar 21st, 2005, 02:25 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bangkok in two weeks

I'd like to take care of a few details before we leave for Bangkok. Our hotel is not far from Khlong Saen Saep. How feasible is it to use the canal for transportation? Do we need insect repellant when we are near the canals and rivers? Are ATMs located throughout the city? Should we use ATMs associated with a particular bank? Do 4-digit PINs work? Is there much of a problem with pick pockets in tourist areas? Must we carry our passports with us? Or should we leave them in the room safe? Do we need to confirm our return flights before we leave for the US (EVA and China Air)? I've never done this before and I'm not sure what to do! What language is spoken in Chinatown? I speak some Mandarin but I'm not sure if I will have a chance to use it.

I'm so excited about this trip that I can hardly wait! Thanks again to all the experts on this board!
Old Mar 21st, 2005, 05:26 PM

I can't answer all of your questions. But here are some: There are ATM's everywhere they accept Cirrus Plus etc systems. Your pin should work fine.
You may want to carry a photocopy of your passport (first page relevant info) and leave the real thing in the hotel safe.
There are some pick pockets in crowded tourist areas....as in any big city, take care with your money etc. But you should not have any other security problems in Bangkok though one always need to have the usual big city precautions.
You sould ask Eva air when you check in at the airport, whether you have to re-confirm. But most major airlines nowadays do not seem to require reconfirmation.
Old Mar 21st, 2005, 05:34 PM