Bangkok eating..

Dec 9th, 2007, 08:28 AM
Original Poster

Bangkok eating..

I am just beginning to make a list of places to try on my upcoming trip..have quite a few names, but I am wondering about the large outdoor seafood places that I remember from a trip many years ago..

In particular, Somboon Seafood on Surawongse Road

I don't see this mentioned much here..should I give it a try?

Dec 9th, 2007, 09:00 AM

ramonap, no advertising is allowed in the forum. Your spam will de deleted by the editors.

Dec 9th, 2007, 09:02 AM

I haven't eaten at Somboon (there are several locations) but Kuranosuke recommends it. So if you have time, I'd give it a try. I always have so many places on my list, I nver make it to all of them.
Dec 9th, 2007, 09:02 AM
Original Poster

While I am here, I will also ask about these two:

Pen
Celadon
Dec 9th, 2007, 09:39 AM

I ate at Pen a couple of years ago and liked it a lot but don't expect any atmosphere. Celadon is a lovely restaurant and was excellent when it opened. But on a recent visit I found it a bit bland and overpriced.
Dec 9th, 2007, 10:15 AM

E-make sure you get to Chote Chitr. It's very basic, but the food is good. It was in the article by R.W. Apple as Pen.
Dec 9th, 2007, 10:21 AM
Original Poster

Panda..yes Chote Chitr is on my list..with all the reports about this place I hope it is not farangs only!! Do I need to reserve here in advance and do they even take reservations??

Thanks to you both..Gloria, I will skip Celadon and put Pen on the list...

I also want to try that Polo Chicken place.

I read here a lot about Harmonique..what kind of place is this?

Dec 9th, 2007, 10:30 AM