Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Any reliable saphire dealers in Bangkok?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 08:11 PM
Vicky

Will be in Bangkok for a very short visit. Heard there used to be excellent prices for saphires but now they try to scam you and even "reliable" jewelery stores sell phonies. Any information would be appreciated. (Will also be in Viet Nam)

Old Oct 8th, 2002, 05:38 AM
barbara

Thanks for asking my question. I will be doing the same thing. I hope someone has good information for us.

Old Oct 8th, 2002, 06:04 AM
Kathie

Certainly there are gem scams in Bangkok, mostly appealing to people's greed. There are also people on the streets selling "gems." But if you go to a reputable jewler, you should have no problem. I have a jeweler I have been buying from for 20 years. SJ International, 125/1 Sawankhalok Road, Dusit, Bangkok<BR>phone: 2432446 or 2432447 or2415355 Call them and they will pick you up at your hotel (all the big jewelry stores offer this service). If you are staying at a good hotel, the conceirge can also direct you to good jewelers.<BR><BR>I've not heard of reputable dealers selling fakes, but as with anything you are buying, you can bargain best if you know something about what you are buying. Do some looking in your home town before you go, check prices, get a good jeweler to show you the difference between mediocre quality sapphires and good sapphires. My guideline for price is that I can buy excellent quality sapphires in Bangkok for half of the US wholesale price.

Old Oct 9th, 2002, 10:16 AM
haydee

Are there any books or reliable sights that tell the custome what a saphire should look like?

Old Oct 9th, 2002, 12:14 PM
scigirl