antique jewelry

Old Oct 23rd, 2005, 07:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
antique jewelry

I have been researching antique jewelry in India for about a year now. I know it is a difficult thing to find these days unless you wander into a village. I will be traveling to Rajasthan in the next month or two for my second scouting trip. Any advice, leads, stores, etc. would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.
Old Oct 23rd, 2005, 08:33 PM

The jewelry store at Amarvilas in Agra had quite a bit of antique jewelry when I was there in August. The prices didn't seem outrageous to me, but I'm no expert on Indian jewelry. The salewoman was very helpful and gave me the names of some other shops in Jaipur, but unfortunately, I lost the list.
Old Oct 23rd, 2005, 08:47 PM

Gem Palace in Jaipur. They have a lot of estate jewelery. I am in an airport lounge today and do not have their address with me, but have it at home. If you cannot find it on Google, write back and I will look it up when I am back home on Thursday. The shop is worth a visit just to see the upstairs rooms.
Old Oct 23rd, 2005, 09:41 PM

The Jewelry I saw at the oberoi hotel in Agra and jaipur belong to Gem Palace. The address for Gem Palace in Jaipur in Mirza Ismael Road (M.I.Road) Jaipur. They are very well known and have been at the same location since the 1840s. Gem Palace also has a store in Mumbai, but I do not think they have have any antique jewelry.
Old Oct 24th, 2005, 01:01 AM

Surana is a famous Jaipur based jeweler who also has an outlet in Delhi. You could also go to Amrapali in Jaipur for gorgeous silver and gold antique jewelry
Old Oct 25th, 2005, 11:25 PM

The Suranas & owners of the Gem Palace are personally very close to some of the royal houses in & around Jaipur. You may get some authentic pieces from them. Though Suranas are rather better known for diamonds & meena jewellery. Amrapalli has excellant variety.
Old Oct 26th, 2005, 07:38 PM
Original Poster