Search

Travel to Hamburg

Search this Thread

Old Sep 3rd, 2004, 07:23 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel to Hamburg

I need to travel to Hamburg in mid-October for business and pleasure and am curious to know if it's true that Euporpean flights drop in price after Labor Day. Will be traveling from ORD with family and I am trying to be economical with costs. Is it also better to book a non-stop to Hamburg or book a flight to another gate way city and use a European airline to travel on to Hamburg? Any help would be appreciated, I'm a bit of a novice at international travel (It's only my second trip to Europe.)
Old Sep 3rd, 2004, 09:02 AM

Flights to Europe generally drop sometime during September, although usually not as early as Labor Day. The summer travel season seems to extend further into September every year.
Old Sep 3rd, 2004, 09:07 AM

I don't think there's any non-stop from the US to Hamburg, so you must change planes somewhere in Europe. Or you can fly into Frankfurt, and take the train. The trip is 4 hours from the Frankfurt airport to Hamburg. Every two hours, there's one direct from the airport; and on the other hour, a change at Frankfurt.

You can get the train schedule from www.bahn.de Use Frankfurt Flughafen as your origin.

Otherwise, you can change planes at any major European hub, like London, Paris, Amsterdam, or Frankfurt.
Old Sep 3rd, 2004, 09:09 AM

BTW, the fares right now is about $650 for mid-October, with weekday departure, or about $700 for weekend. I think that's a little high, and ~$550ish should be about right.
Old Sep 3rd, 2004, 11:47 AM

angelarrudolph,

As mentioned by rkkwan, there are no nonstops from ORD to Hamburg, so shop around for the best fare with 1 plane change.

Check fares on the large travel websites such as:
www.expedia.com
www.orbitz.com
www.travelocity.com

as well as directly with these airlines, which all offer connections with 1 plane change:
www.aa.com (via London or Zurich)