Please help me select an airline - international travel

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 10th, 2010, 05:53 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a relative newbie to international travel having only done it once before. That time we flew Delta, but we were in business class. This time we will be flying coach with our two teenage daughters. We are flying to Venice and home from Rome.

If all things were equal as far as price, number of stops, duration of flight, which of the following would you choose for the outgoing flight?

Lufthansa that connects through Frankfurt
Delta through Paris
Air France through Paris
Delta through Amsterdam
British Airways through Heathrow

Also, what does it mean when you see something like this: KLM Royal Dutch (operated by Delta) or Lufthansa (operated by United)

Thanks so much!
Old Mar 10th, 2010, 06:49 AM

'KLM Royal Dutch (operated by Delta) or Lufthansa (operated by United)' These indicate codeshare arrangements in which you purchase the ticket from one airline (here KLM and Lufthansa) but fly on the metal of the other. At the gate you'll see both flight numbers listed on the board but only one airplane.

As for your choices of connection airports, Paris (a mess) and Heathrow (just huge) are generally thought to be more chaotic than Amsterdam and Frankfurt. Though Paris may be OK if you are on an AirFrance plane because T1, where airlines from the US and third world land, is just awful, but I'm told AirFrance passengers get a much nicer experience because they use a newer terminal.

How to chose? Price, convenience of schedule, connection airport? The airlines themselves are pretty much alike, I think -- they all have good and bad days.
Old Mar 10th, 2010, 06:58 AM