Search

London to DC through JFK

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22nd, 2015, 10:28 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
London to DC through JFK

Hi everyone,

This is my first time traveling to DC with a connecting domestic flight, so I was wondering if you could please help me out. I'm flying out from London with American Airlines to JFK. There I have a 1.5 hour layover and will be flying to DC, also with AA. Will I have to claim my bags at JFK and re-check them onto the DC flight?

Also, where do I go upon arrival at JFK? To transit I suppose? Are international and domestic transfers in the same part of the airport?

Thanks in advance
Old Jun 23rd, 2015, 02:41 AM

I'm not familiar with JFK but i would be very surprised if you don't have to claim your bags and go through Customs and Immigration before your onward flight Most, if not all, countries require you to do this at the airport where you enter the country. However, the US does have customs at some foreign airports which you go through prior to boarding, so no need on arrival.
Old Jun 23rd, 2015, 04:03 AM

You'll go through immigration and collect your bags at JFK. Everything else depends on whether your "American Airlines" flight is actually operated by American or is a codeshare with British Airways. Can you tell us the flight number?
Old Jun 23rd, 2015, 05:14 AM

There's no such thing as "transit" in the US. You go through the regular immigration lines, pick up your luggage, clear customs, and then drop your bag off at the re-check desk near or in baggage claim (I can't recall precisely where it is in the AA terminal at JFK). From there you go upstairs, back through security again, and to your gate. Same terminal as long as you are on AA all the way.