I printed my boarding pass, now what??

Old Aug 7th, 2012, 02:51 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I printed my boarding pass, now what??

This is my first time flying so don't call me stupid! What do i do when I get to the airport with my printed boarding pass?
Old Aug 7th, 2012, 03:07 AM

Not a stupid question. Assuming this is not an international flight and you are flying from the US. Two choices - if you are not checking luggage, you go directly to the security line. This is in effect your "ticket" - so you do not have to stop at the ticket counter.

If you are checking luggage, you go towards the ticket counter - but there will be a line or place where you will just check your bag, not go thru the entire check-in process again. There are always lots of people around who will direct you to the right line.

Since you have not flown, some unasked for advice/info about security. Go to the TSA website and make sure you understand what you can and cannot carryon, especially the liquids rule. At security, there will be a TSA person to whom you will hand your boarding pass and govt issued photo ID (drivers license, state ID, passport). Then you continue on to a conveyor belt with bins. You must take off your shoes, jacket, belt and put them in a bin. Also in the bins go laptop, liquids in a qt ziplock bag, keys and other metal. The bins and your carryon go onto the conveyor belt and you proceed to follow directions from TSA person - either thru a metal detector, X-ray/scanner type thing. You may possibly be "patted down" - and this is sometimes random, so don't take it personally.

At the end, you collect your stuff so you can re-dress. Don't forget your stuff - people do all the time. And have a good trip.
Old Aug 7th, 2012, 03:10 AM

If you have luggage to check, there will be a luggage-drop counter, where they'll tag your bags and then it's off to security.