Search

How's Bradley Airport?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 9th, 2003, 11:13 AM
cdt
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How's Bradley Airport?

We're thinking about using Bradley International Airport (Hartford) for the first time and we're wondering if it's a relatively pleasant place.

We live north of NYC and usually fly from Newark for Caribbean trips. We really hate the Newark airport and certainly don't feel that LaGuardia or JFK would be much of an improvement.

Bradley may cost us a bit more, but it's 30 minutes closer. Is it enough of an improvement from Newark to be worth a few extra dollars?
Old Jul 9th, 2003, 01:25 PM
Shelleyrock

I have been using Bradley for the past 25 years. It is convenient, clean and safe. It's much smaller then Newark,LaGuardia and JFK. It is worth the $$ to not have the craziness of a large airport.

Old Jul 9th, 2003, 01:39 PM

An issue to consider with smaller airports - primarily in winter with weather delays and cancellations - is availability of back-up plans and planes if something goes wrong. If there is a mechanical problem with a plane, there are more options either for an individual airline (get another plane) or you (get on another airline). But since these are not usual events, unless a delay would really mess you up (like attending a wedding or making a close connection for a cruise), it shouldn't make all that much difference.

And, in my opinion, anything is better than JFK - what a poor excuse for an airport!
Old Jul 8th, 2004, 08:24 AM