Notices

Flight questions!!

Old Feb 14th, 2007, 05:20 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flight questions!!

Hi All-

I hope I am doing this right as this is my first time on Fodors. We are planning a trip to Europe in September and I have a question about flights. CAN we fly into Amsterdam and fly out of Belfast? If so how the heck do I do it?
We would be flying into AMS taking the train to Brussels onto Waterloo then flying to Venice. From Veice we will be flying to Shannon renting a car and driving up north..So I want to make sure we can fly into one city and fly out of another!!

Any help/comments would very appreciated!

-Kate
Old Feb 14th, 2007, 05:48 PM
J62

Yes, you can do as you suggest. It's called an open-jaw ticket. All airline and travel websites let you book such tickets under the 'multi-city' option.

let's say you're flying out of JFK.
Flight 1: JFK to AMS
Flight 2: Shannon - JFK

You can book the London-Venice flight on the same booking, or separately on your own.
Old Feb 15th, 2007, 03:23 AM

Note however the best fares will only come if you use the same airlines - or at least ones that codeshare.

So for your example you might find the cheapest flights become US to Amsterdam, then Belfast to Amsterdam to US.

I would suspect a JFK to AMS & SNN to AMS would be by non-partner airlines and so you might end up being charged single fares for each leg

Flights within Europe are probably best booked separately using a low costs airline - see www.whichbudget.com & www.skyscanner.net - though DON'T dismiss using a traditional carrier as intra-Europe fares can be very competitive
Old Feb 15th, 2007, 11:08 AM

Don't look for "open jaw" on websites It's "multi-city".
Old Feb 15th, 2007, 10:28 PM

Neither Belfast nor Shannon have terribly good air connections.