Search

Travel in Tanzania/Kenya

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1st, 2006, 09:09 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel in Tanzania/Kenya

Hi all.....am a real first timer to this site and African trip planning and would appreciate any suggestions as to how to get started. I would be interested to see if there is somewhere where I could get an idea as to the times of the year is best to see what..hope that makes sense. Am very flexible with the time but since I am a very avid but amateur photographer would like to get somewhere to at least have a chance to see some of the larger game etc. Hope this doesn't sound to sketchy but at least it is a start. Thanks, Bob
Old Aug 2nd, 2006, 12:07 AM

Bob, if you can give one of preferred geographical location, or the larger game that you are particularly keen to photograph you would then have a start! There are so many places you could go for what you want, and every one of them is going to get some votes around here. Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Namibia and Zimbabwe are the classic destinations for "big game" and each has plenty of other attractions too. Choose Southern or Eastern Africa for a start... where do you dream of?
Old Aug 2nd, 2006, 12:18 AM
santharamhari

In general, game viewing in South Africa and Botswana is good June-November. Zambia is good for the same time frame.

Kenya is best July-October. Tanzania is very good rest of the year....(basically, i'm factoring the migration periods for these regions).

To see lots of animals on a first safari, including lots of predator sightings.....Masai Mara during the migration is hard to beat!!! (That was my first safari!!!)

However, for later safaris i recommend something which is more personal, where you can spend a lot of time at sightings.....

Hope this helps. Any animals in particular on your wish list?

Lions aplenty everywhere....probably Serengeti is your best bet for lots and lots of them.