Search

East AFrica Itinerary

Search this Thread

Old Apr 8th, 2007, 09:14 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
East AFrica Itinerary

Planning a family trip to East Afric for Feb. 2008. Would appreciate comments on this itinerary prepared for us by a US agent:
1. Fly Arusha to So. Serengeti Natl. Park -2 nights Ndutu Safari Lodge or Camp -
2. TRansfer by road to Ngorongoro Conservation Area - 1 night at Crater Sopa or Serena Lodge
3. By road to Lake Manyara Natl. Park - 1 night E'Unoto Retreat
4. GAme drive in Lake Manyara, return Arusha to fly to Nairobi
5. Overnight in Nairobi - Fairview Hotel
6. Fly Nairobi to Lewa Conservancy - 2 nights Lewa Downs
7.Fly to Masai Mara Game Reserve - choice of 4 nights Leleshwa or 2 there and 2 at either Mara Explorer or Little Governor's Camp
8. Trip ends with flight back to Nairobi

Would appreciate any imput from other forum members. Thanks in advance for your time and help!

Old Apr 8th, 2007, 12:26 PM

I am no expert, but I would stay within Tanzania in February - the migration is then in Tanzania, and the wildebeest will be calving with a bit of luck - last year they were when we were there.
Old Apr 8th, 2007, 01:53 PM

I'd take the 2/days at Lewa and add them to the Serengeti.

I'd keep the Mara, but realize that Explorer is the most expensive (very expensive compared to your other properties in Tanzania or Kenya). You might want to consider Explorer's sister camp Intrepid's for the 4/nights rather than Leleshwa. Intrepid's is located on the Mara River and will have been recently refurbished (believe by end-May '07).

I assume the day in Nairobi, you'll be doing the sights: Blixen, Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Center - that's good.

Old Apr 8th, 2007, 03:51 PM

With a total of only 4 nights in Tz and only 2 in the Serengeti, I think you're seriously short-changing yourself. I agree with hetismij - for a Feb safari, I'd stay in Tz for the duration if possible. I'd recommend something more like: