Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

Do moon phases affect the migration in the dry season?

Feb 21st, 2009, 02:00 PM
Original Poster

Have you noticed any correlation between the herds crossing the Mara River, or doing anything else, and the phases of the moon?

Maybe I have a PhD thesis here. I think I should devote 6 years to the study.

Ha ha, but my question is serious. I have not found an answer.
Feb 21st, 2009, 04:57 PM

I thought, when reading the title of your post, that it would definitely need a long onsite study. Hey, go for it! Seriously, though, it's an interesting question. My understanding of the Migration is that the movement of the herds are dependent on the rains and resulting grasses. Last September the herds were in Kenya, but when it started raining early in the northern Serengeti, they started pouring back across the border. If the Mara or any other river is in the path of those herds, it will be crossed.
Feb 22nd, 2009, 02:36 AM

Wouldn't it be terrific to be able to speak to the wildebeest, to find out more about their motivations?

I would especially want to know why so many of them cross the Mara, then retrace their steps and cross back in the other direction (lather, rinse, repeat).
Feb 22nd, 2009, 05:04 AM

Believe the moon has impact on the "calving" of the wildies,in February; sometime around the new moon. Yet, it's not unusual for those in the Ngorongoro Crater to calve earlier than those at Ndutu/SESerengeti.

At to the moon/river crossings, with such large herds arriving at the crossing points between June thru Oct/Nov, whether Tanzania or in the Mara, doubtthe moon has much to do with these very confused animals that cross and then recross (rizzuto) and cross again.

Observation only, not scientific.
Feb 22nd, 2009, 05:41 AM
Original Poster