Airport near Kruger NP?

Jun 9th, 2003, 02:41 PM
Original Poster

Airport near Kruger NP?

OK I have been surfing this site for a few months and I finally registered and got my screen name. I also just booked my flight from ATL-JBurg via SAA from December 2-15.

My question is: We want safari in/around Kruger NP (I think). What is the name of the nearest airport to there? Nelspruit, I think, but all my maps suck. And can I drive to lodges from there?

Still haven't booked a lodge so some recommendations are welcome. It is our honeymoon and I want luxury (at least for a few nights) but I don't need someone to feed me grapes and fan me with a palm frond. Know what I mean? Will NOT spend $1,500 per night. I was hoping for $600 per night total somewhere special, private with limited people and lots of animals. I was thinking 3-4 nights there and then on to somewhere beachy for some diving and R&R perhaps Mozambique. Again, any/all recommendations are welcome.

I also want to talk with Rocco when he gets back. He knows EVERYTHING.

Kevin
Jun 9th, 2003, 09:15 PM

The airport is the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport just outside Nelspruit - see www.kmiairport.co.za. There is no doubt that you will be able to drive to the lodges from there but other Fodorites will have to help with this. Remember it is malaria area.
Jun 9th, 2003, 11:20 PM

Hi,
Last year we spent four nights at Garonga safari lodge (www.garonga.com). It was absolute heaven. We flew from Jo-Burg to Hoedspruit, and were picked up from there and driven to the lodge.
The camp accommodates a maximum of sixteen people, either in beautifully designed, luxurious "huts", or in the honeymoon "suite". The guides were excellent, and we had great game sightings. The emphasis at the camp is relaxation - there's even a small open-walled thatched hut where you can enjoy a massage. When my mum was having a foot massage there, a couple of elephants wandered past - only 2 metres away!