Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Brigtsen's

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef Frank Brigtsen's fusion of Creole refinement and Acadian earthiness reflects his years as a Paul Prudhomme protégé, and his dishes here represent some of the best south Louisiana cooking you'll find anywhere. Everything is fresh and filled with deep, complex tastes. The butternut shrimp bisque defines comfort food. Rabbit and duck dishes, usually presented in rich sauces and gravies, are full of robust flavor. But Brigtsen really gets to unleash his creativity on

the "Shell Beach Diet," a nightly changing seafood platter. Trompe l'oeil murals add whimsy to the intimate spaces of this turn-of-the-20th-century frame cottage. Ask for a table on the enclosed front sun porch.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

723 Dante St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70118, USA

Map It

Phone:

504-861–7610

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. and Mon. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Cissy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2006

Don't miss this treat!

Last year we attended one of Frank's courses at The House on Bayou Road which was absolutely wonderful and made us want another meal at his restaurant. It was such a great experience we are going back this June for more! Highly recommended: and we've eaten almost everywhere in New Orleans over the years!

By Phillip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2005

Off the beaten path

We thought it was a nice place to eat away from the French Quarter. We enjoyed the food, and the atmosphere. The only negative was having to wait for a taxi to take us back to our hotel.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2003

Go Uptown for a fine Dining Experience

We ate here mid-October. We had reservations, arrived early and were seated immediately. The small, intimate, romantic setting and outstanding service really stand out in my mind. The food was well prepared, and the portions HUGE! We took or servre's recommendations and were not disappointed with anything. The pecan pie was great! It is more then "just a bit outside the Quarter" but well woth the trip uptown. Take the streetcar! It's fun, cheap, and

I found it both scenic and relaxing.

Read More

By LisaO

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2003

Very Good Solid Food

Quite good but not near the best in New Orleans, though I've only eaten here once, several weeks ago. I ordered the seafood platter which was a very interesting and different presentation but didn't live up to the description or my expectations. The other two in our party had the duck and the beef tornedos. The duck was actually dry which has got to be hard to do and the steak uninspiring but good. Perhaps we ordered all the wrong things but this

is a full step down from one of the best restaurants in New Orleans,in my opinion. The atmosphere was very nice and romantic and the service was excellent--we only saw the server when we wanted to. We waited half and hour even with reservations but they served cocktails so we didn't really care that much. I was a tiny bit put off by the coed bathroom, but I guess that's just silly.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2003

Brigtsen's Bargain

We ate here early in July of 2003 and found they had a wonderful early bird special prix fixe dinner for $19.95. Great deal!! Be there early and eat well, excellent food.

By Sean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2003

Worth the Uptown trip

Fair warning that a meal at Brightsen's will spoil you for all other New Orleans dining. One can really tell that Mr. Brightsen is in the kitchen giving his all. The turtle soup was the best I've ever had. Most places cover up imperfections with a tomato base, but here you actually taste the turtle and other complex flavors. The duck/andouille gumbo is refreshingly unique. All the main dishes come with interesting taste complements like mango salsa

and crisp vegtables. Presentation is excellent. The staff are friendly and very helpful, making the somewhat cramped dining area quite homey. Prices are high (which is why I rated value of 4), but if its in your budget make sure and call ahead because the word is out on Brightsen's.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2003

Brigtsens a Perfect 10

We ate at Brigtsens last weekend for the first time and it was fantastic. Every entree was delicious. The pompano and trout were two of our choices. The turtle soup was great and so was the other appetizers. None of us left hungry - the portions were very filling. The atmospphere and service were also perfect. Now I know why reservations are so hard to get - it was worth the wait!

By Foodie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

Save the taxi fare!

This was the absolutely worst evening in New Orleans. After a $20 taxi fare, we were seated in a cramped room with barely enough space to move (I'm a New Yorker and not used to lots of space!). Food was ok but presentation was abominable. Tiny plates (remember, not much room at the table), with food heaped on in a jumble. Service was far from cordial. I can't figure out what the hype is about here. You can do far better in town. Best part of

the evening....the streetcar ride back!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement