New Orleans Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Bayona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Bayona Review

"New World" is the label Louisiana native Susan Spicer applies to her cooking style, and resulting delicious dishes include the goat cheese crouton with mushrooms, a Bayona specialty, or the Caribbean pumpkin soup with coconut. A legendary favorite at lunch is the sandwich of smoked duck, cashew peanut butter, and pepper jelly. A three-course small-plates lunch is available on Saturday for $25. The imaginative dishes on the constantly changing menu are served in an early-19th-century Creole cottage that glows with flower arrangements, elegant photographs, and trompe l'oeil murals suggesting Mediterranean landscapes. Don't skip the sweets, like a maple-semolina cake with golden-raisin compote and pomegranate sauce.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
  • Closed Sun. No lunch Mon. and Tues.
Updated: 03-30-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    bad info in the Fodor's guide

    To start off, after making a reservation 3 weeks in advance for a Susan Spicer experience we ended up seated at the absolute WORST table in the place. We were the 2nd party in the restaurant and were seated next to the wait staff entrance.
    An early reservation means nothing to these people. The highly (and overpriced wine list) had wines that had been out of stock for weeks. The place was over the top loud to the point that conversing was not possible with your dining companion. Despite the Fodor's review about no cell phones apparently that doesn't include checking Facebook and email. The delivery of the wine seemed like an afterthought. The bread other than a great sweet potato roll was stale. We have already eaten at The Palace Café and the Commander's Palace and they made this place look like it is definitely second rate. You need to lower your review on this. It should NOT be a Fodor's choice! Just to let you know, we have eaten in restaurants rated by your guide from Napa to Charleston to Montreal. This was a huge disappointment!

    by easterneater, 3/18/14
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    AMAZEBALLS!!!

    absoulutly amazing service and food cant wait to go back but i couldn't believe i even got a last minute reservation next time i will defenatly order a tabkle ahead of time the wait was just a little to long

    by lilysavvage, 9/14/12
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    New Orleans Native-

    There are very few vegetarian options in New Orleans- especially for a nice night out. Call ahead and the kitchen here will make sure that anyone can have a fantastic dinner. However, The food here is beyond fantastic. Simple French-American cuisine with a new twist. I (the non-veggetarian) had the eggplant pate,the fried and smoked quail served on a salad with bourbon-molasses vinaigrette, and the rabbit loin- I finished everything (and had to be wheeled out). We also had the goat cheese crouton with mushrooms in Madeira cream (amazing- better than the goat cheese coquettes at Mimi's) and the ginger creme brulee with a berry compote.

    Our waitress was lovely, the atmosphere (especially early) was very personal.

    by katsagerine, 11/21/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great Experience

    Spectacular. The best food in New Orleans during our stay. The lamb was the best I've ever had. Bring a sweater, because it's a deep freeze, though. Emeril should make a reservation and bring a note pad!

    by fromLosAngeles, 7/21/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    petepeper

    Booked a table for 9.00 pm on a friday. We were served our starter at 9.15 and then had to wait until 10.45 for our main course. This is the worst service I have ever experienced. When the food did arrive it was nothing special. Avoid this place like the plague.

    by petepeper, 7/28/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A great experience

    After seeing the reviews in Fodor's we decided to try Bayona and had a great dinning experience. The staff was superb and the food excellent. We will definetly go back there the next time we visit Nola

    by rtdicello, 7/17/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Still the best in NOLA

    My recent visit to NO,LA included many fine restaurants. From the appetizer to dessert every dish was phenomenal, including the samples from my wife's plate. The most consistent cuisine in NO.

    by cmordoc, 4/2/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful

    I'm truly surprised by all the negative comments here! My husband and I live about 45 minutes from New Orleans and make frequent trips there for dinner. Obviously, we eat out quite often and I can only say that Bayona is WONDERFUL. The last time we were there, we actually went for the Wednesday evening wine tasting and ended up staying for dinner. I had the lamb, which was fabulous by the way. Yes, it's expensive, but worth every penny in the fantastic food and atmosphere!

    by pmrichard, 3/22/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in New Orleans

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories