Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Restaurants

Humuhumunukunukuapuaa

  • 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr. Map It

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

You don't have to wrestle with the restaurant's formidable name (it's Hawaii's state fish); simply tell the valet or concierge you're going to Hoo-moo-hoo-moo. The Polynesian-style thatch-roofed, open-air restaurant "floats" atop a saltwater lagoon. It's exotic, romantic, and well suited for special occasions. Dinner is accompanied nightly by heavenly sunsets. Obviously, fresh fish dominates the menu here, but there's also Kobe beef, lamb, and even a vegetarian plate.

Order the "Growing Future Farmers Salad"—$1 of each one sold goes to the Maui County Farm Bureau program of the same name. For dessert, try an over-the-top coconut rice pudding tower or Humu hula pie.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Grand Wailea, 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr., Wailea, Hawaii, 96753, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-875–1234

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 02/20/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Derf

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2004

Lagoon is cool

The best part about this restaurant is the atmosphere. The lagoon is cool and is great to look at. Beyond that, the food is pretty average and one could do much better on Maui. I'm not sorry that we went, but probably wouldn't go back.

By Sherry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2004

Horrible Last Meal of Our Honeymoon

We stayed a week in Kauai and a week in Maui on our honeymoon. On Maui, we enjoyed Nick's Fishmarket, Gerard's and Chez Paul, as well as less expensive places like the Maui Onion. We thought this would be a nice meal for our last night. It was awful. The setting is the only thing it has going for it. The food was bland and mediocre. The service was abysmal, and we aren't even people who *ever* complain about service, really. We actually thought

our waitress was deaf, because when we talked to her she just stared at us, and never brought anything we asked for. We started feeling bad for her, until she managed to say "Anything else?" when bringing by the bill. Whoever said it was "diner service" was only half right-- it's worse than diner service. For mediocre food and terrible service, I might not even be that upset, if it weren't also so overpriced. There are so many better places-- I'd rather eat at a lot of the great hamburger joints or better restaurants on Maui than spend another dime here!

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2003

Location great, dining experience average

The lagoon atmosphere was the best part of the dining experience. Food was OK, but way over priced. In Wailea, had better overall experiences at Sarentos, Seawatch and Longhi's.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2002

Love or hate it...

It is a long way from the ostentatious lobby and grounds of The Grand Wailea Resort to the restaurant. The Humu is a very nice seaside loction. The food was very good. We enjoyed dinner and dessert. It is worth the trip....

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2002

Atmosphere may be fake but the food is the real thing

We had our last dinner on the island here and were not disappointed. We reveled in the Disneyland Polynesian atmosphere, inlcuding slurping down several tropical cocktails. I recommend the mango-strawberry daiquiri! And the food was excellent. I started with a delicious salad; my husband had the Thai summer rolls, whch were pretty blah. However, I loved my sesame encrusted snapper main dish and the chocolate lava cake for dessert was spectacular.

Our waitress was very friendly and even brought my husband some extra pineapple for free. Go when it is still light out to see the fish in the pond -- although that means risking being surrounded by kids -- and leave some time to explore the grounds of the Grand Wailea, which are completely over the top.

Read More

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2002

A'aupaukunukunumuhumuh

A very pleasant evening indeed - walking through the luxurious grounds of the Grand Wailea to be nicely greeted and well-taken care of by a waiter who was friendly, efficient and not in the least bit pretentious. A nice ukulele/bass duo strolled around to add to the relaxing and exotic feeling. The ono was the best I ever had and was almost tempted by the lobster but $110+ for a single entree was beyond my scruples. But in general expect to pay beaucoups

of money for any nice restaurant on Maui, and you'll forget about how much you could have bought back home for that same amount five minutes after you pay it. We recommend this place.

Read More

By Lenore

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2002

Service Needs Some Work, but Food Tasty

Neat surroundings, but again not utilizing ceiling fans on a hot night. Food was very good, especially the appetizers, but the service was slow and not well executed. They tried to serve us another party's food and took forever to refill my husband's iced tea. Prices seemed a bit over the top for sub-standard service.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement