Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Diego Restaurants

Fish Market

  • 750 N. Harbor Dr. Map It
  • Seafood

Updated 05/16/2014

Fodor's Review

Fresh mesquite-grilled, steamed, and skewered fish and shellfish are the specialty at this informal restaurant. There's also an excellent shellfish bar that serves crab cocktails and steamed clams. The Monday through Thursday happy hour means specials on snacks like oysters and smoked trout quesadillas, as well as drink deals. The view is stunning: enormous plate-glass windows look directly out onto the harbor. A more formal restaurant upstairs, Top of the Market, is expensive

but worth the splurge, and is the place to find such rarities as Pacific swordfish with pumpkin risotto and ricotta salata.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

750 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, California, 92101, United States

Map It

Phone:

619-232–3474-Fish Market; 619-234–4867-Top of the Market

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 05/16/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Vister

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2008

One of our fave places

We eat lunch here at least once a month. Best seafood in town!!! The view is awesome too!

By DocJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2007

Everytime in SanDiego

My wife and I eat at the Fish House each time we are back in SanDiego..As former residents of NorthCounty, it brings back so many pleasant memories. The Cioppino is terrific and the view cannot be beaten. JB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2006

A let down.

The crab cakes were tasty, but held lots of filling. So, not a good value. Wine by the glass is delivered in small glasses, so it too, it not a good value. The portions were small, but the salad was good. Our server was very attentive. The place was clean, but based upon what a basic lunch costs (about $100 with tip), we won't go back. (Plus you have to pay $0.25 for every 12 minutes of parking.)

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2006

Too expensive now.

I hav loved the Top of the Market for years. The food is prepared with a little more attention than downstairs and the price was a little bit higher. I just arrived home after dining there tonight and it will be my last time for a long while. The prices are now ridiculous. I had local Halibut which was $30, my mother had Dover sole which was $38. While they were nicely cooked, they are not prepared in a different, creative way and it's just not worth

the money. The people sitting behind us were considering the Alaskan halibut ($39) and told the server that they hadn't expected to have to buy half of Alaska. so, from now on it's downstairs or somewhere else for me.

Read More

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2005

Its the view, silly!

Best bet is the outside patio and the oyster bar. Seat yourself and order a few drinks and appetizers and enjoy the sunset overlooking San Diego bay. Order the fresh fish without the seasoning. They use the same on everything and its overpowering.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2005

Don't Eat Here... Fishy

Nice view and great service but really bad chow... high prices and bad food do not go together. Run as fast as you can away from the Fish Market.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2004

Huh?

What a disappointment. Everything was average except for the service which was poor. (Among other things, the server missed two dessert orders and he insisted they weren't placed.) Skip it!!!

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2003

Don't Miss It

Seafood Lovers Heaven

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2003

The name says it all

Good simple fresh fish, nice family atmosphere, stunning view. The balcony hangs over the water on San Diego Bay. They make a lovely cioppino and serve it in big pans. Sourdough bread with every order. They have a fish market and bar. If you like fish, come on down. If you don't, don't bother, because there isn't much else on the menu.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement