Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Napa and Sonoma Hotels

Milliken Creek Inn

Pros

  • Soft-as-clouds beds
  • Serene spa
  • Breakfast delivered to your room (or elsewhere on the beautiful grounds)

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Road noise audible in outdoor areas

Updated 05/01/2014

Fodor's Review

Wine-and-cheese receptions at sunset set a romantic mood in this hotel's intimate lobby, with its terrace overlooking a lush lawn and the Napa River. Chic rooms take a page from the stylebook of British-colonial Asia, with a khaki-and-cream color scheme and gauzy canopies over the beds in some rooms, alongside hydrotherapy spa tubs and some of the fluffiest mattresses in the Wine Country. Most rooms have gas-burning fireplaces. An outdoor deck overlooking the river is

the spot for massages, and all the treatment rooms in the spa, including one used for popular couple's treatments, have river views.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1815 Silverado Trail, Napa, California, 94558, USA

Map It

Phone:

707-255–1197

Hotel Details:

  • 12 rooms

Updated 05/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Napa and Sonoma

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2010

Milliken Creek Inn Review

The attentive service we received at the Milliken Creek contributed to our very special winter Napa Valley 3 night getaway. The staff at hotel was dedicated to helping us make the most of our Napa experience. Complimentary amenities included wine & cheese tastings at the hotel hosted by exceptional local wineries and a delicious breakfast brought to our room. If you enjoy a comfortable and relaxing experience in a serene setting at a small tasteful,

first class but not pretentious boutique hotel, this is the place for you.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2008

Horrible, unprofessional staff.

We booked for our honeymoon, but were extremely disappointed in the location. Instead of offering even a shred of understanding, the untrained, impolite, and unbelievably unresponsive staff (and I mean all of the individuals we dealt with) put on a fake smile and just nodded their heads when they told us they'd be charging us for our entire stay whether we stayed there or not. The falsely advertise and they know nothing about customer service.

They quite possibly poached their "staff" from a neighborhood Applebee's. They don't return phone calls, they don't respond with any human emotion whatsoever. They robbed us of plenty of honeymoon time, caused a fair amount of grief, and stole money from me. Yes, I said stole. There's nothing legal about their "policy." They are common thieves. You don't have to take it from me, but if you're planning on staying in or around Napa, check out Meadowood before you waste your time with this group. Meadowood knows how to treat guests and knows how to make any vacation a special one--Honeymoon or not.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2007

A Wonderfull Retreat

If want luxury and privacy this is the place. Although it is located along a busy road. Once you pass throught the doors you are transported into another world. You are greeted with wash cloths, wine, and personal service. In the evening, your room becomes adorned with soft jazz and candles. We will definitedly go back and I highly recommend it despite the high price.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2005

5 Star Experience

What can I say...The rooms were gorgeous, great breakfast, superb location, friendly and professional staff and at least $200 per night cheaper than Calistoga Ranch or Auberge du Soleil! I read tons of reviews before booking and based on the going rate in Napa Valley Milliken Creek was a bargain.

By Jovan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2005

The Headboards are not attached to the bedframes!

I had been waiting to visit ever since they opened. So my boyfriend surprised me for my birthday, by taking me here. At 625.00 per night I was expecting alot. Unfortunately, it was NOT worth the price at all. The room was nice and looked out on the river, BUT the headboard was not attached to the bed frame, and even though we called down to have them come and fix it they couldn't as it was not made to fit the frame, so it just rested against the

wall. And it banged every time we sat against it. VERY ANNOYING FOR 625.00 PER NIGHT! Then we had booked a massage for two on the riverfront, and then they told us we would have to have the massages in our rooms and then had the nerve to charge us extra for that "convenience" which we never wanted in the first place! The weather outside was perfect for the riverside massages that they bragged about on their website. So I never really got a satisfactory explanation of why they were not able to do them out there that day. Anyway, for $625 dollars per nite take your money elsewhere as there are so many other lovely places to stay in Napa for less!!!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2005

Off-The-Charts Romantic!

All I can say is this is our new favorite place in the world. Romance drips off the walls, the service is first rate and the rooms are gorgeous. If your traveling to the wine country, we recommend you stay there.

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2004

Milliken Swamp Inn

What a huge disppointment! Don't bother checking out their website because although it's beautiful, it is nothing like the reality. I called numerous times to doublecheck everything and was never told the truth. The smell of the creek is overwhelming. Dead rotting fish. They explain the river is tidal. Swampy is the word I would use. The candlight turn-down service showed candles all around on their website, I was told the room would be filled with

candles. We came back to our room after dinner to find 3 glasses of water holding burned out tea lights on the mantel. When did they light them? We gave them our itinerary -- dinner was only an hour. And 3? Looks like at least 8 on the website. The luxurius Frette bedding was itchy and hot like polyester. Maybe it was the mattress cover that had been put on upside down underneath. I couldn't sleep. Went down to the the port bar for a nightcap. No port. 5 empty bottles of port and it was only 10:30. Frat party? Cold quiche for breakfast (I don't eat eggs) and nowhere to eat it. No table suitable and sitting outside smelling dead fish during breakfast is a no go. The bathtub turns itself on anytime it wants. ?? Air conditioning unit housed nearby very loud all night long. And when I voiced my complaints, no one did a thing. Not a thing. These poeple are used to complaints I'm sure and couldn't care less what you think. They have your credit card. Don't waste a dime on this place. It's a real scam!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement