Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Restaurants

Café Stash

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

On chilly nights locals head to this casual Eastern European restaurant in the heart of Old Montréal for sustenance. From borscht and pierogi, to cabbage and sausage, Café Stash has all the hearty specialties of a Polish kitchen. Live piano music in the background is the perfect accompaniment for roasted wild boar or traditional Wiener schnitzel. The ambiance is cozy and dark with tables salvaged from an old convent; seating comes in the form of chapel pews. Anita Karski,

the current owner, was a waitress here for ten years and her experience and know-how make this place run seamlessly.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

200 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montréal, Québec, H2Y 1Z9, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-845–6611

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Montreal

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2007

Mid week finde dining :)

Really enjoyed the 1st experience at Stash's. The staff was very pleasant and more than willing to help out with the menu...especially in explaining what was what. Although the service was a bit slow, the food was great and reasonably priced. Recommended!

By Glenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2006

A very busy restaurant

A unique menu and restaurant in the heart of Old Montreal. It seems like the locals also frequent this restaurant and it is extremely busy. Service was quite slow, likely because they were so busy. A nice change from the usual menu.

By Missy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2005

Good food, good value

If you're not familar with the area, Cafe Stash is a great pick. The food was immensely enjoyable, atmosphere warm, and service good.

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2005

Good meal option in Old Montreal!

My wife and I ate there for lunch we ordered the pirogues and the cabbage rolls. Both were quite tasty, I especially enjoyed the red cabbage served with the cabbage rolls. We never went to a Polish restaurant and were delighted that our first trip to a Polish was a delight. We ordered the nut cake for desert, which was kind of dry and bland!

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2004

What a nice way to relax!!!

Walking into Stash's was such a nice way to relax! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was outstanding! The pianoplayer was a real treat. A dinner of similiar quality and atmosphere in NYC would cost about 50-75 dollars per person. At Stash's, we paid about 15 dollars, including tip, no alcohol. I would definitely return!

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2002

Ignore the closed message below

Fodors should screen the readers' comments more closely. The message below is damaging. Cafe' Stash is NOT closed. I just called them and they are very open. Please ignore my ratings above as I have not yet gone to Cafe' Stash but look forward to going soon.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2001

Good Polish

Unlike others, we very much enjoyed our meals. The portions were rather small, with a heavy emphasis on cabbage. The deserts were very good. The stairway to the restrooms made me feel like Repunzel would be at the top when I got there.

By Colleen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2001

great ambience

wonderful Cabbage rolls. portions are somewhat small for the $$, but the ambience is terrific. located in an ancient stone building in Vieux-Montreal.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement