Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Vancouver Restaurants

Kirin Restaurant

Updated 05/08/2012

Fodor's Review

A striking silver mural of a kirin, a mythical dragonlike creature, presides over this elegant two-tier restaurant. Specialties here are northern Chinese and Szechuan dishes, which tend to be richer and spicier than the Cantonese cuisine served at Kirin's other locations. If you're adventurous, start with the spicy jellyfish, redolent with sesame oil. Then try the Peking duck or the sautéed lobster meat served with a deep-fried lobster claw. Dim sum is served daily.

Restaurant Information

Address:

1172 Alberni St., Vancouver, British Columbia, V6E 3Z3, Canada

Map It

Phone:

604-682–8833

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 05/08/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Vancouver

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By BigR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2008

What a letdown!

I have heard plenty of reviews about this place... read it online etc... BUT... Ordered the suckling pig. Firstly, it came out cold. And the poor thing was not so much a suckling little piggy but a meaty monster. Hardly delicate and $138 for half...??? Then the Peking duck. Not bad, thin skin... but the skin was not so crispy and COLD [again]!!! The pancakes were nice... the fried duck after was mixed with lots of things but was actually very

tasty. Then!!! The vegetables were hot!!! wow! But seriously, they were nice. The bill came... $220 for 4... and then the manager told me that it didnt include the pig! I said "you are ^#%#% kidding in Chinese". We checked the bill and it was there, of course! So, the service would have been a 4 but the manager made it a 1. And no apologies, of course! Would I go back? NO... unless I am reincarnated either as a fisherman from Alaska who wanted to eat in a restaurant I last saw in TJ Hooker or a 5th generation Chinese who was brought up by wolves and never saw other Chinese people before...

Read More

By richsf

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2008

Excellent seafood

A Vancouver native recommended this restaurant for upscale Chinese. It did not disappoint. Alaskan king crab was in season, and the restaurant prepared it two ways perfectly. Food is on the pricey side (they have to pay for the pricey real estate somehow), but very good.

By Harry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2006

Not that special

The menu reminded of restaurants in London and HK which are known for excellent chinesre cuisine. However, the food couldn't quite live up to those standards.

By Loren

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2004

very ordinary Chinese food in factory envirnoment

This restaurant seems to attract large Asian tour groups. The food, service and environment were all less than special.

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2004

Good but not great.

While the food and service were good, I had expected great.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2003

By far the best Chinese restaurant in town

I worked in Vancouver for a month and a half in the summer of 2002 and almost tried out every single Chinese restaurant in town. This one is by far the best. Arrive early for Saturday brunch(definitely before 11am).

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2001

Best Chinese Restaurant on West Coast (bar none!)

Kirin has four locations. According to their own evaluation, the best food is at the Cambie (12th Ave) location, and the 2nd best is their Richmond location (Westminster Hwy). Portions were generous and the taste was outstanding. I have dined in Chinese restaurants up and down the West Coast and agree with the other critic - this is definitely better than anything else along the West Coast. As an aside, Kirin is a mythical creature, but isn't it

closer to the unicorn?

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement