Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Teatro di Pompeo

Pros

  • Great location near Campo de' Fiori
  • Helpful staff
  • An old-school Roman feel

Cons

  • Rooms can be a bit noisy
  • Rooms are small and some are a bit musty
  • Wi-Fi is very spotty

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Have breakfast under the ancient stone vaults of Pompey's Theater, the site of Julius Caesar's assassination, and sleep under restored beamed ceilings that date from the days of Michelangelo at this hotel with simple (and perhaps a bit dated) rooms and wonderful, genuinely helpful staff. Rooms have terra-cotta floors, comfortable old-fashioned beds, and antique (almost too antique) furniture. Hotel Teatro di Pompeo is the kind of place where you can really feel that you're living where the ancient Romans once did.

Hotel Information

Address:

Largo del Pallaro 8, Rome, 00186, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-68300170

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 12 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By rigans

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2007

Great little hotel

We stayed here for 4 nights in September 2007 and loved it. Friendly staff, spacious clean rooms, comfy bed, good sized bathroom with a wonderful large and deep tub as well as shower. The complimentary breakfast has a very good selection and the coffee is delicious. The location can't be beat for sightseeing - Pantheon, Piazza Navonna, Colosseum, Forum all within easy walking distance. Lots of shops, markets, cafes, tavernas and trattorias in

the immediate area of hotel.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2003

Are you kidding?????

I can be brief. 3 words: Skip it. Horrible.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2003

Local Color??

I consider myself a person who enjoys adventure and a person who is not very picky, but this place was hands down, the WORST place I have stayed anywhere in the world. I don't need amenities or luxury; all I ask for is a clean room, quaint surroundings with helpful staff, and a safe neighborhood. Whoever called walking up a dark, dingy staircase flanked by dirty clothes, garbage, stray cats, screaming locals and the smell of urine "local color" must

have had a different agenda on their trip to Rome than I did. Not only was the hotel itself a huge disappointment (my wife and I dreaded going back each night), but it was in a "ghetto" and it wasn't the Jewish Ghetto as described. The hotel surroundings were dark, unsafe, covered with grafitti and full of characters begging or just loitering. If you are staying in the "anex" and not the hotel proper, you are own your own going back to your room. There are better hotels for this price or even cheaper in Rome. I should have read these reviews before I booked.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

One person's ugly laundry is another's local color

We stayed in an annex apartment of the Teatro di Pompeo for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Yes, you walk up a stairwell which adjoins a light-well shared by neighborhood apartments. In addition to laundry, you see plants, ornamental iron, etc; you're closer to the neighborhood than when you stay in most hotels. Staff gracious (a bit avaricious), location outstanding (near the old Jewish ghetto, one minute from Campo di Fiori).

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2001

You've got to be kidding!

I'm sorry, but Fodor's really made this place sound charming. What a letdown! It was hidden in the midst of a parking lot in an area that looked like a war zone.... grafitti all over the walls, unsafe, and dismal. We were given a room in "the annex". It was like Baite's Motel. It wasn't even connected to the main part of the hotel, we had to go through three sets of security doors and up 4 flights of stairs (no elevators) to get to our dingy

depressing room. The walk up bypassed clothes lines used by apartments within the complex. I cannot believe this place had a 3 star rating as there were so many other hotels in this category that were so much more impressive and charming for the same price. In addition, it took us months of calling back to get a reservation as every time we called it was "too early" to make a reservation, even though it was only 2-3 months before our departure. It was the lowlight of of our trip to Italy!!

Read More

By cathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2000

Location, location , location

If you want to be in the middle of 17th century Rome, this place is great. The rooms are unsentimental, but the people who work here are nice and the feeling of having breakfast in a 2000 year old theater (which is now underground)is a real kick.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement