Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Hotels

Hotel Helvetia and Bristol

  • Via dei Pescioni 2 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice
  • Exterior

  • Royal Suite

  • Bathroom

  • Hostaria Bibendum Restaurant - Exterior

  • Hostaria Bibendum Restaurant - Interior

  • Bar

  • Tuna Salad

  • Choccolate dessert

  • Meeting Room

  • Event with a view

  • Deluxe Suite

  • Superior Suite

  • Royal Junior Suite

  • Reception

  • Hall

  • Winter Garden - Breakfast

  • Single Room

  • Classic Double Room

  • Superior Double Room

  • Deluxe Double Room

  • Deluxe Junior Suite

  • Cooking Classes

Pros

  • Central location
  • Superb staff

Cons

  • Rooms facing the street get some noise

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

From the cozy yet sophisticated lobby with its stone columns to the guest rooms decorated with prints, you might feel as if you're a guest in a sophisticated manor house. In fact, painstaking care has gone into making this hotel one of the prettiest and most intimate in town. It has the extra plus of being in the center of the centro storico, making this a luxurious base from which to explore the city. The restaurant serves sumptuous fare in a romantic setting.

Hotel Information

Address:

Via dei Pescioni 2, Florence, 50123, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-26651

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 54 rooms, 13 suites
  • No meals

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By BJS1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2010

Hotel Helvetia & Bristol Review

My wife and I stayed at the Helvitia for three evenings. Our small suite was lovely with a modern bath. This is a classic small luxury hotel with a quiet, cozy atmosphere. Location is great, close to Duomo and in the high-end shopping area. I would highly reommend this hotel.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2007

Excellent Florence Hotel

Lovely old world hotel. Excellent location and service. Restaurant small; would recommend eating in one of the many choices in immediate area. (Loved Buca Mario nearby!). Interior hotel rooms don't have a view, but are very quiet, versus exterior rooms where you can hear some street noise. Would stay at this hotel or others owned by Royal Demeure group.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2007

Not for the nouveau riche

It would be folly for serious and conservative folks to stay anywhere else in Florence. However, this distinguished establishment is not appropriate for the nouveau riche, celebs or the vulgar.

By Uma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2005

Charm and Class in the heart of Florence

We spent five nights recently at Helvetia & Bristol, and would highly recommend this hotel. Our room was compact, but lovely with high ceilings and glass chandelier. The marble bathroom had a glassed in shower. Staff were excellent; they knew our names right away. We had one of our best dinners at the hotel's restaurant. The buffet breakfast was quite good. Location is perfect - around the corner from the bustling Piazza della Repubblica, a short

walk to all major sights. For class, charm and location in Florence, stay here.

Read More

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2003

Best Front Desk in Florence

Great hotel with exceptional service. We especially enjoy the suites, but all of the rooms we have stayed in have been exceptional. The front desk can get you tickets and/or reservations for anything. Location is ideal for both sightseeing and shopping.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2001

Very good service, but "cozy"? Try "cramped".

Location is perfect, close to both the Duomo and the Uffizi. Service was excellent, staff extremely helpful for reservations, etc. And the hotel itself is lovely but rooms are, how else can we say it, pretty small. We were two adults in a junior suite, and it was tight. I would definitely recommend H&B for the service, but don't look for "spacious".

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement