Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

CocoLaPalm

  • Patrick The Lobster Man (he walks the beach daily)

  • St.Paul's spicy cajun snapper fillet

  • forgot about the time

  • last meal

  • Vernon

Pros

  • Good beach location
  • Large guest rooms
  • Good on-site dining

Cons

  • Small pools
  • Few ocean-view rooms

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

This quiet, friendly hotel on the beach has oversized rooms (junior suites average 540 square feet) in octagonal buildings around the pool. Some junior suites have private patios or terraces; most of these overlook the gardens (only 11 rooms have ocean views). The resort makes a good base for exploring Negril Beach, or you can just relax under one of the tall coconut palms. The beachside restaurant is open-air and casual.

Hotel Information

Address:

Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-957–4227

Hotel Details:

  • 75 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/13/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Jamaica

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2013

We were not in the room much!

We didn't get a suite - just a regular room - the only one we've ever gotten without an ocean view in all our travels, but it didn't matter. There was 7 miles of beach right out the door and too much to do. This was the first place I could sit in a hot tub as late as I wanted to, and hear the jamaican tree frogs singing. Every staff had a smile for us. One nice lady took us up to an empty Jr. Suite so we could view it for maybe next time in Negril.

This was one of few places that was not all inclusive that we have stayed. We probably spent more on food and drink than we planned, but we were able to : 1. Put snacks in our fridge 2. Go next door for cheap jerk chicken pizza - yum 3. Try out mid-priced to more expensive dining in negril We stayed the week before Christmas. Most bars were empty, and most resorts were very quiet. We wish we would have known that if we wanted more of a lively time - to go during another week of the year! We love this place and recommend it! We stayed December 2010 - but that was not an option to choose below!

Read More

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2003

Great Value on the Beach

Just returned from a lovely stay at Coco LaPalm. We had two rooms- a junior suite with big terrace overlooking the bar, and a smaller superior room downstairs for our two teens. If you're looking for a family-run resort on the most beautiful part of Negrils' Beach without the fuss and business of a Beaches or Sandals Resort, this place is for you. It's also an unbelievable value for the winter recess. We spent less than we would have going to Florida.

Anyway, if you're looking for a place that will remind you of the old Negril ( less glitz and a warm welcome for visitors) this place is for you. Our only complaint was the mediocre food, but this can be easily solved by eating at some of the great places in the West End ( Chicken Lavish, Three Dives, Rock House and LTU). We hope to go back next Spring. Really was heaven!

Read More

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2002

The Best Spot in Negril

We stayed at Coco La Palm in October 2000 in the Jr Suite and garden room. Both were great. If you like spacious, clean, comfortable and pretty hotel accomodations then you'll love this hotel. The location/beach were great and we really like the restaurant and especially enjoyed the baked breads each morning which were made from their own onsite bakery.

By Gale

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2000

Beautiful Hotel with Outstanding Staff

Coco La Palm is the loveliest place we have stayed in our many,many trips to Jamaica. The jr. suite was huge, comfortable, beautifully furnished and we were lucky enough to have one that overlooked the beach and ocean. Staff here is excellent --- friendly, gracious and they enjoy getting to know the guests. Food at the restaurant could improve (and cut down the size of those portions!), but was enjoyable. This is certainly not the cheapest place

in Negril to stay, but its a nice compromise for those used to staying in the bigger all-inclusive places and those wanting something quieter and more intimate. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement